Maria Calanche - Founder & Executive Director

Lou is the Founder and Executive Director of Legacy LA. Her dream has been to return to her community of Ramona Gardens to develop programs to help youth reach their potential. Lou attended Loyola Marymount University receiving a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and received a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Southern California.

Contact at Lou@LegacyLA.org
 
Ruby Rivera - Director of Programs and Policy

As the Director of Programs & Policy Ruby oversees academic, leadership, and community programs. Ruby graduated from UCLA with a degree in labor studies and has a Master of Social Work degree from USC.

Contact at Ruby@LegacyLA.org
 
Jennifer Rubio - Human Resources Manager
Contact Jennifer@LegacyLA.org
 
Beverly Perez - Development Associate
Contact at Beverly@LegacyLA.org
 
Carina Palacios - Academic Programs Manager

Carina is currently working as an Education Advocate and High School programs coordinator at Legacy LA where she provides academic support for youth living in Ramona Gardens and the surrounding community.Carina graduated from the University of California, Los Angeles in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology.

Contact at Carina@LegacyLA.org
 
Francisco Lopez - Program Manager
Contact at Francisco@LegacyLA.org
 
Benjamin Valdez - High School Education Advocate

Benjamin has lived in Boyle Heights for 25 years. He graduated from the University of California Santa Cruz with a Bachelor of Science in Sociology and Latin American Latino Studies. As an education advocate at Legacy LA, Benjamin helps youth navigate high school, achieve completion, and find their college & career path.

Contact at Benjamin@LegacyLA.org
 
Denysse Nuñez - Middle School Program Coordinator

Denysse received her bachelor's degree in Liberal Studies with an emphasis on Culture Studies and a double minor in Theatre Arts and Dance and Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies. She oversees middle school programming and is the lead in curriculum development.

Contact at Denysse@LegacyLA.org
 
Lucy Herrera - Leadership Program Manager

Lucy received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science/ Law and Society from UC Riverside. She was part of the first ever Dream Big Leadership Program at Legacy LA and was an active member for 4 years. After graduating from UCR she decided to give back to her community and returned through an apprenticeship with Public Allies. After completing her apprenticeship Lucy has returned to Legacy as the Dream Big Leadership Program Coordinator under the Youth Council Leadership Program.

Contact Lucy@LegacyLA.org